Eu funding : Annan, Gorbachev join EP leaders and other guests for Energy Globe Awards


 European funds

Related EU Grant Loans Programme(s):
 Grants for strengthening Community environment policy and legislation, with a view to promoting sustainable development in the EU

Politics, music and film meet at the European Parliament on Monday night for the 9th Energy Globe Awards.

The awards - which promote the use of clean and renewable energy - will present awards to projects in following categories: Earth, Fire, Water, Air and Youth. Kofi Annan and Mikhail Gorbachev will be joined by Alanis Morissette and Dionne Warwick whilst Bollywood actor Aamir Khan will represent the world of film.
The ceremony will be presented from the parliament’s building in Brussels by TV presenter and actress Désiree Nosbusch in English. She will also be joined by Italian singer Zucchero and Aboriginal Park coordinator Leanne Liddle.

Some of the prizes will be presented by parliament’s President Hans-Gert Pöttering and the president of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso. The Council of the European Union will be represented by Slovenia’s PM Janez Jansa as Ljubljana currently holds the rotating EU presidency.

On this website over the next few days we will have a full report from the Gala itself as well as interviews with some of the VIPs who attended. The parliament has strongly backed the awards given the importance it attaches to environmental and energy questions. At present MEPs are legislating on a number of important EU-wide subjects:

* Revision of the EU Emission Trading Scheme;
* CO2 emissions from passenger cars;
* Renewable energy sources and biofuels;
* Binding national targets for emissions reductions;
* Carbon Capture and Storage.

As well as the main awards the Energy Globe Awards also help support local projects which help save energy, protect the environment or help more people access drinking water or electricity. This year projects from 109 countries participated. Indian activist Maneka Gandhi is chairing the jury.

European Parliament

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Les commentaires sont fermés.