Barroso unveils his new team

José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, announced the portfolios responsibilities for the next Commission.

The new Commission must gain approval from the European Parliament before it takes office for a term of office running until 31 October 2014. Commissioners-designate will appear in individual hearings before Parliamentary committees from 11-19 January. The vote of consent on the new Commission as a whole is foreseen to take place on 26 January. On the basis of the vote of consent, the Commission shall be appointed by the European Council. Then it can start working.

Article in French only.

See beloww the list of the portfolios:

*Joaquín ALMUNIA: Competition. Vice-President of the Commission.
*László ANDOR: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion.
*Baroness Catherine ASHTON: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission.
*Michel BARNIER: Internal Market and Services.
*Dacian CIOLOS: Agriculture and Rural Development.
*John DALLI: Health and Consumer Policy.
*Maria DAMANAKI: Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.
*Karel DE GUCHT: Trade.
*Štefan FÜLE: Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy.
*Johannes HAHN: Regional Policy.
*Connie HEDEGAARD: Climate Action.
*Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN: Research and Innovation.
*Rumiana JELEVA: International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response.
*Siim KALLAS: Transport. Vice-President of the Commission.
*Neelie KROES: Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission.
*Janusz LEWANDOWSKI: Budget and Financial Programming.
*Cecilia MALMSTRÖM: Home Affairs.
*Günter OETTINGER: Energy.
*Andris PIEBALGS: Development.
*Janez POTOCNIK: Environment.
*Viviane REDING: Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission.
*Olli REHN: Economic and Monetary Affairs.
*Maroš ŠEFCOVIC;: Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration.
*Algirdas ŠEMETA: Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud.
*Antonio TAJANI: Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission.
*Androulla VASSILIOU: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

Les commentaires sont fermés.