European Charlemagne Youth Prize 2011: award ceremony on Tuesday

The European Charlemagne Youth Prize 2011 will be awarded in Aachen on Tuesday 31 May. The Prize is awarded to youth projects that encourage the development of a shared sense of European identity. The President of the European Parliament, Jerzy Buzek, and the Chairman of the Charlemagne Prize Foundation, Michael Jansen, will participate in the ceremony.

Mr Buzek, Mr Jansen, and Ernst Schmachtenberg, Rector of the RWTH Aachen University will welcome participants. Marcel Philipp, Mayor of the City of Aachen, will present the third prize, Martin Schulz, German MEP and leader of the European Parliament’s Socialists and Democrats Group, will hand over the second prize, then Mr Buzek will present the first prize.

Role models for young Europeans

The prize is awarded to projects undertaken by people aged between 16 and 30. The aim is for the winning projects to serve as role models for young people living in Europe and offer practical examples of Europeans living together as one community. Youth exchange programmes, youth conferences and internet projects with a European dimension are among those selected.

The prize, which is jointly organised by the European Parliament and the Charlemagne Prize Foundation, is awarded annually. This is its fourth edition. Last year the German project ‘European CNC Network - Train for Europe’ was awarded first prize, with the second prize going to the book project ‘You are here’ (Ireland) and the third to ‘BEST Engineering Competition BEC’ (Bulgaria).

Total prize money of 10,000 Euros

The three winning projects will be awarded funding of €5,000, €3,000, and €2,000 for first, second and third prize respectively. They will also be invited to visit the European Parliament in the coming months.

Selection procedure

National juries consisting of at least two MEPs and one representative of a youth organisation have selected a national winner from each of the 27 Member States. In April, the European jury, consisting of three MEPs, the President of the European Parliament, Jerzy Buzek, and four representatives of the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize, selected the three winners from the 27 projects.

Representatives of the 27 projects have been invited to the award ceremony in Aachen.

Practical information

The award ceremony will take place in Auditorium I of the RWTH University (Templergraben 55, 52062 Aachen) on Tuesday 31 May. The event is scheduled to start at 11.00 and finish at 13.00.

Les commentaires sont fermés.