External energy policy of the EU increased

On October 6, Poland was granted a participant in the Energy Community. This community, which aims to guarantee the security of energy supply of its members, including representatives allows the EU to get closer to its eastern neighbors on this important issue.

Established in 2005, the EC creates one of the largest internal energy markets in the world. Initially, the European Community and nine countries and territories (Bulgaria, Romania, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia and the UN Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo) belonged to it. Since 1 May 2010, Moldova, and since 1 February 2011 Ukraine have been parties.

Poland, as an EU Member State, has hitherto been represented in the EC by the European Commission. Becoming a participant does not incur any additional obligations (legal, financial) in respect of the EC; however, it is of significant importance due to policy, procedural and image reasons. Since becoming a participant, Poland can be individually represented in such bodies as the EC, and others such as the Ministerial Council, the Permanent High Level Group or the Regulatory Board. This will ensure better access to information and an opportunity to influence and to channel discussions.
Active participation in the Energy Community is one way to implement the priority of the Polish Presidency: strengthening the external dimension of EU energy policy. The instruments available under the Energy Community provide for an effective expansion of EU law in neighbouring states, which is crucial from the standpoint of EU energy security.

Since Ukraine’s accession to the EC and focusing activity in this way towards the East, Polish participation is also important in the context of commitment to relationships with partners in the East. In addition, Poland in this way emphasises the role that the EC can play in the context of the Eastern Partnership to boost work on energy issues.

Les commentaires sont fermés.