And the European Border Breakers Awards go to…

Selah Sue receives public choice award

The winners of the 2012 European Border Breakers Awards (”the EBBAs”), which highlight the best new music acts in Europe who have achieved cross-border chart success, were honoured this evening at the Eurosonic Noorderslag music festival in Groningen (The Netherlands). The biggest winner of the night was Belgian star Selah Sue, who scooped the public choice award, which was announced live during the ceremony following an online vote to select the ‘best of the best’. Her debut soul-funk-ragga album, called Selah Sue, was a top 10 hit in Belgium, France and the Netherlands.

The award ceremony featured performances by six of the ten EBBA winners: Boy (Germany), Anna Calvi (UK), Agnes Obel (Denmark), James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland), Elektro Guzzi (Austria), as well as Selah Sue herself. Alexandra Stan (Romania) was also present to collect her award. Swedish House Mafia (Sweden), Ben l’Oncle Soul (France) and Afrojack (Netherlands) sent video messages.

Hosted by TV personality Jools Holland, the event was broadcast live via YouTube and will be screened on TV throughout Europe in the coming weeks.

Now in their ninth year, the EBBAs aim to encourage artists to make the most of the Single Market by reaching out to new audiences beyond their home country. The awards receive €350 000 in co-funding from the European Commission’s Culture Programme and are organized by Eurosonic Noorderslag, in partnership with the European Broadcasting Union.

Les commentaires sont fermés.