Candidates for “European Capitals of Culture 2012″ present their plans


 European funds

Related EU Grant Loans Programme(s):
 Grants for cultural events in the big cities of the European Union

The selection panel appointed to assess applications for the European Capitals of Culture in 2012 will meet on 23 April in Brussels. Two cities will present their plans for the 2012 title: Guimarães in Portugal, and Maribor in Slovenia

A report on these cities’ candidatures will be written by the selection panel and published by the Commission in the following weeks. This report will then be forwarded to the European Parliament, the Council and the Committee of the Regions. Culture Ministers are due to make a final decision on the Capitals of Culture for 2012 under the French Presidency during the second half of 2008.

On 23 April 2008, the European Commission will host a meeting in Brussels of the selection panel appointed to assess applications for the European Capitals of Culture in 2012, which will be hosted by Slovenia and Portugal.

Portugal has put forward Guimarães, while Slovenia has proposed the city of Maribor for the 2012 title.

The panel will assess the proposals against the criteria laid down for the ‘Capitals of Culture’ initiative and will issue a report which will be published on the Commission’s website in a few weeks’ time.

There are seven members on the selection panel who will examine the applications. They are:

- Appointed by the European Commission: Sir Robert Scott, who led the British 2008 European Capital of Culture proposal (Liverpool). Renowned expert in the field of culture, particularly in the domain of theatre, he is now international ambassador of the Liverpool Culture Company. Manfred Gaulhofer was the Managing Director of Graz, European Capital of Culture 2003.
- Appointed by the Council: Mary Mac Carthy, who is currently working for one of the biggest urban development projects in Europe, the Arts Manager Dublin Docklands Development Authority. She was Deputy Director of the 2005 European Cultural Capital Cork. Maria Michailidou, former General Director in the Cultural Ministry in Greece and member of the administrative Council of various Greek museums and cultural foundations.
- Appointed by the European Parliament: Gottfried Wagner, who is the director of the European Cultural Foundation, promoting the cultural cooperation between the European countries; Danuta Glondys, the director of Villa Decius, Poland, leading various activities in the international cultural sector.
- Appointed by the Committee of the Regions: Jyrki Myllyvirta, who is the President of the Commission of Education and Culture in the Committee of the Regions and Mayor of Lahti, Finland.

The title ‘European Capital of Culture’ is awarded by the Council of Ministers. Following on from Liverpool (UK) and Stavanger (Norway), which are the European Capitals of Culture this year, next year this honour will be borne by Linz (Austria) and Vilnius (Lithuania).

Press room - European Commission
  More information:
European Commission Culture website

Tags: , , , , ,

Les commentaires sont fermés.